My Cart   |   Log In   |   Contact Us

Concerto for Timpani, Percussion and Winds (by Daniel Adams)

Price: $120.00

Product Information

Concerto for Timpani, Percussion and Winds was commissioned and composed in 2004 for Robert McCormick and the University of South Florida Percussion Symphonic Wind Ensemble. It is so titled because the solo timpanist, winds and percussion section interact equally in the transformation and development of thematic materials. 

Following a brief introduction consisting of long notes, the tenor saxophones and french horns enter with a repeated four-note motive in a premonition of the flourish-like entrance of the solo timpani four measures later. An intricate interplay of thematic ideas between the timpani, winds and percussion follow. The timpani part is occasionally divided into two independent musical lines, and the head of each drum is played in three surface areas. 

A dense polyrhythmic passage played by all wind instruments serves as a transition to a solo timpani cadenza, based on previously introduced thematic material. The cadenza concludes with a brief "trio" passage played by the timpani, saxophones and the entire percussion section. The piece culminates with dense counterpoint between the timpani, winds and percussion. 

Includes 31 page spiral bound full size conductor's score and 30 individual booklet parts. Instrumentation includes:


Flute (2)

Oboe (2)

Bb Clarinet (2)

Bb Bass Clarinet 

Bassoon (2)

Eb Alto Saxophone (2)

Bb Tenor Saxophone (2)

Eb Baritone Saxophone

Horn in F (4) 

Bb Trumpet (3)

Trombone (2)

Bass Trombone 


Percussion 1

Percussion 2

Percussion 3

Percussion 4 

View Score Excerpt
View Score Excerpt
View Solo Excerpt